There is a terrific website for bicycle riders in and around Salt Lake City called saltcycle.com. The site should be of interest to road and trial riders alike.
They had a recent article discussing the recent bicycle accident involving Fox 13 News anchor Kerri Cronk. They also have a terrific article titled Bike Law 101: An Introduction. Saltcycle acknowledges that the inspiration for the article comes from BikePortland.org where there are many posts.In turn, saltcycle has inspired me to review the Utah law applying to bicycle, bicycle riders, and motor vehicle operators when around bicycles.
There are a number of laws concerning bicycles and their use in Utah.Here they are, in plain language, with a reference to the Utah State Code for your reference.You can look up the actual wording of the code by clicking here and then entering the number of the code referenced.
You cannot equip your bicycle with a siren or a whistle.Utah Code 41-6a-1113
All bicycles must have a brake or brakes capable of stopping the bicycle within 25 feet when moving at 10mph.Utah Code 41-6a-1113
Bicycle racing on highways is prohibited, Utah Code 41-6a-606, except:
oWhen permitted event is approved by a highway authority on a highway under its jurisdiction.Utah Code 41-6a-111, under conditions that:
§assure reasonable safety for all race participants, spectators, and other highway users, and, Utah Code 41-6a-111
§which prevent unreasonable interference with traffic flow which would seriously inconvenience other highway users.Utah Code 41-6a-111
oRacers participating in a race on a highway may be exempt from compliance with traffic laws as long as, Utah Code 41-6a-111
§The highway authority granting the permit agrees, and, Utah Code 41-6a-111
§Traffic control can assure safety of all highway users.Utah Code 41-6a-111
A peace officer may stop a bicycle for inspection and test if the officer has reasonable cause to believe that:Utah Code 41-6a-1110
oThe bicycle is not safe or not equipped as required by law, or
oThe bicycle equipment is not in proper repair or adjustment.
All bicycle riders shall ride as near to the right-hand edge of the roadway except when:Utah Code 41-61-1105
oPassing another bicycle or vehicle headed in the same direction,
opreparing to make a left turn at an intersection or into a private road or driveway,
otraveling straight through an intersection that has a right-turn only lane that is in conflict with the straight through movement; or
oreasonably necessary to avoid conditions that make it unsafe to continue along the right-hand edge of the roadway.
All bicycle riders on a highway shall travel in the same way as traffic.Utah Code 41-61-1105
All bicyclists cannot ride more than two abreast unless on a designated exclusive use bicycle trail.Utah Code 41-61-1105
If you are riding two abreast you must travel in single file if impeding other traffic.Utah Code 41-61-1105
If the bicycle rider is directed onto a bike path adjacent to a roadway the bicycle rider shall use that bike path.Utah Code 41-61-1105
A car or truck driver may not knowingly, intentionally, or recklessly operate their vehicle within three feet of a moving bicycle, unless the operator of the car or truck operates the vehicle within a reasonable and safe distance of the bicycle.Utah Code 41-6a-706.5
You can park your bicycle anywhere unless signed otherwise, Utah Code 41-6a-1107, but,
oYou must not impede the normal movement of pedestrians or other traffic, or
oPractically anywhere else a car can park, and
oMust comply with laws applicable to motor vehicles when parking.
All bicycles must, at a minimum, have a lamp that works and be turned on ½ hour after sunset to ½ an hour before sunrise or at any time conditions reduce visibility to less than 1000 feet.Utah Code 41-6a-1603, and
oThe light on the bicycle must be a white light visible from at least 500 feet, and
oRed reflectors on the back, or
oA red tail light, flashing or non-flashing.
All bicycles operating between ½ hour after sunset to ½ an hour before sunrise must have reflective material on their sides of their bicycles, or a light pointing to the sides.Utah Code 41-6a-1603
Bicyclists are prohibited from carrying anything that prevents them from using both hands and must keep at least one hand on their handlebars at all times.Utah Code 41-6a-1112.
There are more laws controlling the use of bicycles and controlling the use of motor vehicles around bicycles but I will leave that review for another day.Remember to share the road in Utah because you do not want to be the victim of a crash or the person who causes the crash.
George Tait Law is a law firm and its lawyers represent injured people and their families across Utah including the counties and cities of Beaver, Box Elder, Cache, Carbon, Daggett, Davis, Duchesne, Emery, Garfield, Grand, Iron, Juab, Kane, Millard, Morgan, Piute, Rich, Salt Lake, San Juan, Sanpete, Sevier, Summit, Tooele, Uintah, Utah, Wasatch, Washington, Wayne, Weber, American Fork, Beaver, Bountiful, Brigham City, Cedar City, Delta, Draper, Duchesne, Fillmore, Heber, Kamas, Kanab, Kaysville, Layton, Lehi, Logan, Moab, Murray, Nephi, Ogden, Orem, Park City, Price, Provo, Richfield, Riverton, Roy, Salt Lake City, Sandy, South Jordan, St. George, Tooele, Vernal, West Jordan, and West Valley City. George Tait Law and its Salt Lake City Bicycle accident attorneys are licensed to practice law only in the State of Utah and maintain offices in Salt Lake City, Utah. No attorney client relationship is established by simply visiting this website.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment